Eid Cookies

Chocolate Cashew Cookies – they took the recipe from my mother’s food blog, but they subbed pecans for the cashews since we didn’t have any cashews on hand then.

 

We had made this cookie before for our Ramadan Cookie project with the girls’ club, but I couldn’t for the life of me remember where I got the recipe from! Then I remembered (can’t remember how I remembered, but I was looking through the Malaysian cookbooks I have), and it was from this old dessert Malaysian cookbook my mother had given to me when I was 10. So the girls made these Sesame cookies but they used brown sugar in place of white sugar because we were out of white sugar because they had been making a lot of desserts the preceeding days.

 

Kuih Bangkit. The girls made 2 batches. The first batch, S didn’t want to roast the tapioca flour and of course it tasted somewhat blandish. So she made it a second time and it tastes wonderful! We had a Bangladeshi couple over recently and the husband LOVES these cookies! I do too! The recipe is also my mother’s, from her food blog.

 

H as usual, made brownies. The girls arranged them in these muffin cups and placed them in containers and jars. They look real pretty.

 

It was my idea. Usually, during Eid, Z is always ‘left out in the cold’ in terms of goodies, because of his allergies. So I had made cookies for him for Eid, before Ramadan and froze them. While we were getting ready for Eid days before, I told the girls to pack his cookies with the halal marshmallows we had bought the day before in those treat bags. They also made the tag with his name on. We hid it from him and brought these with us to the masjid, ready to give them to him when people get their food. That’s when he’s usually left out. Last year I brought his muffins. You should have seen the look of utter enjoyment on his face when he got to eat those muffins while everyone else was digging into whatever food was served at the masjid. Poor boy. This year, this was a surprise for him. He loved it, except for the marshmallows. He said he didn’t like them. I wish I had the energy to make more treats for him. It was only one type of cookie that I made for him.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Allergies, Baking, Eid, Family | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

