First weekend in Dallas

Hubs couldn’t get a late check out on Sunday, so we checked out around 11 am and went to Hyatt to just hang out till the class ended. I coaxed Z to do more of Umm Nu’man’s activity sheets. At first when he saw it involved reading Arabic he said he didn’t want to. Wow, his experience with reading Quranic Arabic must be so bad. The older kids weren’t like this even though I was pretty consistent with them. With Z, because I wasn’t able to do it consistently with him every day due to my crazy commitments and hectic schedule (makes me feel so bad) his siblings had to take over, and I guess at times everyone is stressed out at having to do it with him, so it became a bad experience for him.

Whenever I tried to read it to him, he caught the hint and said

“I don’t want to do it.”

So I had to reassure him that ok, we won’t read it, just match it.

When we got to Hyatt, it was about 1 hour or so till lunch break, so I decided to glue the card templates to the index cards and alhamdulillah, by the time lunch break and zuhr came around, I was done with them. After Lunch, I laid them out on the ground unfortunately, to let the glue dry.

drying the glue

After they were dry, S, Z and I played memory game and go fish with them. Z enjoyed it. Then we also played the Surah Al Ikhlass game with the game boards. He loved this one too! Alhamdulillah!

Z got to decide who would go first. We picked a secluded spot in the conference center and hung out there while waiting for Behind the Scenes to be done.

I may have to glue those cards on index cards since I didn’t print them on cardstock. It was hard to put them under the stack when they didn’t match.

 

By the time we were playing a few rounds, he had recognized Allah, wa, lam, huwa. He didn’t give any indications that he could read the other words, but I didn’t press him.

At first he colors the dots and wouldn’t listen to me when I told him to trace it. Then as he was doing Ahadun, I pointed out the hamzah to him and he started to take interest. i showed him the actual version of the word and he was able to see what it was, and then he traced the word properly. It’s not that he can’t do it, because I noticed that he could trace it pretty well, but it’s just a matter of whether he wants to or not.

We did the gluing activity too, and he glued two words, and then he wanted to ‘do it later’. We took a walk outside, stopped by this sign at the parking lot.

I asked him to read it and then explained to him how someone could peek in your car window and steal your valuables f you leave it visible in your car. He had this ‘soaking in information’ look on his face, and then asked me,

“Why do people steal?”

He also played with my camera and took some pictures.

He made a comment,

“The clouds look like snow.”

This boy is obsessed with snow. We had read some books on snow and he’s been asking for winter and snow since then.

S and I watched King Arthur’s Britain, part 3 and we were both dozing off! We didn’t finish watching it though. I was actually dozing off  in a sitting position. But we got the gist of the DVD : there was no invasion of the Anglo-Saxon on Ancient Britain. Archeological finds found that Anglo-Saxon villages followed suit right after Roman villages and that there was no Dark Ages after the Romans left until the Anglo-Saxon came. There in fact was a thriving period during the ‘Dark Ages’. There was no invasion.

It’s actually interesting, but it might have been a tad too long.

We drove to Oklahoma City right away after hubs and N and H finished Behind the Scenes. In the midst of waiting for the class to end, Z was running around in the hallway with his sandals off. At one point, he was gone. S and I looked for him. In class, they were showing a video so the ballroom was dark. When the clip was over, Z walked out calmly holding a half eaten banana.

“Did someone give you the banana or did you take it?”

“I took it.”

“Z, you don’t even take anything if someone doesn’t give it to you, okay?”

He knows that if someone offers him any food, he should ask me first, especially if it’s something he knows he can’t eat becuase of his allergies. But I guess the banana on the table looked too tempting. Oh my…

We arrived in Oklahoma City around 11 pm alhamdulillah. I don’t feel like going out , especially not driving, so we might just stay in the hotel during our stay here inshaAllah. I have a lot of work to catch up to anyway. As for Z, I read the Eeman Reading Series books to him this morning, but when I asked him if he wants to glue, he said no.

I don’t think he likes doing worksheets, cutting and pasting at all. Right now, he’s reading A Drop of Blood. I had also read it to him this morning. He seems fascinated with the human body. I had explained to him recently that you are not to pick your scabs because Allah is making new skin grow under the scab and that eventually the scab will be pushed off. He came to me asking why we should leave the scab alone.

I realize that this is his way of wanting to hear the explanation again, because I notice he keeps asking the same question so I could give him the same answer again and again. And this may be his dwelling points in his mind mashaAllah.

This morning, we looked out the window, and saw window cleaners hanging by ropes, washing the windows of another skyscraper. We’re on the 3rd floor. I showed Z this, and in my mind I’m thinking he needs a session on learning about community inshaAllah. I already spied one of Umm Nu’man’s activity sheet set on this, though I will need to supplement it with books about community from the library.

H has gone to the gym. H picked up the A Drop of Blood and is reading it by himself, or at least looking at the pictures. The only bad thing is hubs left the IPad here and N is using it to play games, and so Z is there too. I’m supposed to catch up with the class I missed and get ready for this week’s class, so I’ll be busy too. Sometimes, having older kids is a boon and sometimes, it’s hard because you have bad influences on the younger kids from them. They’re not perfect anyway, even if you tried your best. Oh boy.

Categories: AlMaghrib Institute, Books, Family, History DVD, HotelSchooling, Travel, Z's learning | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

