OKC Day 2

We decided to go out in the morning today, just the 4 of us excluding S, who has class all the way till 2:30. I had a little trouble getting to my group this morning and S missed a bit of her class because we switched laptops due to technical difficulties.

For a downtown library, it looks pretty new, which is nice but surprising. Then again, this is not the east coast. I remember when we went to Philadelphia and went to the downtown library. You could tell the building was very old.

Around 11 am, we went out and decided to take the trolley or walk to the Downtown Library. We ended up waking because the trolley comes every 30 minutes. It was surprisingly cool. I was expecting it to be hot. That’s what happens when you live in New Mexico and it’s always hot. So we had quite a nice walk through part of downtown. H led the way.

The library is very nice. I spent quite some time looking for books to read to Z. I was looking for non fiction science books but I ended up spending a long time in the picture books section before I realized that the books I was looking for was in the tween section.

I had a stack of books and called him and we sat in one area, and I asked him to choose which books he wanted me to read to him. He really loved Hey Diddle Diddle A Food Chain Tale.

I had to read it twice.

We also read Stanley Goes Fishing

and A Kite Day

and In the Garden: Who’s Been Here?

We read some other ones too, but these are the ones we remember. We didn’t read all the books in the stack, and I didn’t have the energy to anyway because after reading Hey Diddle Diddle twice, I didn’t have the energy to read anything else anymore. He also said he was done.

N and H were in the youth area, reading books. I think they finished 1 book during the time we were there. We left around 12:30 thinking we might get on the trolley but we ended up walking back to the hotel and as we reached it, we saw the trolley pass by us. We missed it!

On the way back, they left me way behind.

They had their HSI at 3:30 pm and discussed the Boston Massacre. I was too tired I just fell asleep in between. But the day felt somewhat productive alhamdulillah because in the morning, Z did some of Umm Nu’man’s Quran Center activity sheet set. He glued all the words for surah Al Ikhlass. He also asked to play the memory game with the Quran word cards, and he played it with N and H while I listened to the review of Juz 2. Alhamdulillah! At least he’s not completely aversive to it.

I hope Z is getting better because he is having runny nose sometimes and is still having coughing fits. We’re still giving him honey lemon, thanks to N and H making it for him.

I’m also getting increasingly worried about his food. I had made chicken nuggets for him but he doesn’t seem to like it. I had brought his serunding too, but I want him to eat his chicken. We bought Briyani tonight but of course, he can’t eat it. So he ate white rice with his chicken nuggets. Poor boy. This is the challenge of traveling with a multiple allergic kid. May eh outgrow these allergies completely soon. Ameen!

Categories: Activity, Allergies, Books, Family, HotelSchooling, Quran, Reading, Travel | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “OKC Day 2

  1. Hi! I just happened across your post about homeschooling and reading Hey Diddle Diddle to your son. I am the author of this book and it made me so happy that he enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing!
    Pam Kapchinske

    • nadiaschooldays

      Hi Pam,
      Thank you for dropping by. Thank YOU for writing the book 😀

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

