OKC Day 3

Wednesdays is one of our busiest days in terms of computer use. Juggling this at home is hard enough. In a hotel room, with 2 laptops and 1 Ipad, it was harder still. But alhamdulillah, it went okay, except N did miss a video showed in her mammals class. But at least she can watch the recording for that one. I was worried about my tajweed class, but alhamdulillah it went much better than I expected. H’s Magnetism class was okay too. All problems was on the teacher’s side.

I also managed to get in some Quran Center activities for Z this morning. He finished gluing the missing words for Al Ikhlaass, with a lot of prodding and coaxing. His therapists also face resistance from him, and what they do is just be firm and tell him he can do what he wants after he does what they want him to do. So that’s what I do too. He wanted to do the memory game, so I had leverage. After he finished gluing, we played the memory game. While playing, I read out the words and asked him what he got. It went something like this,

“Oooh! Mama got Ahad! What did you get, Z?”

Seems like he recognized As Samad, lam, qul, and surprisingly, even yoolad. Then we played the board game, and I did the same thing, just to try to get him to recognize the words and ‘read’ them by sight. I also had him do the matching activity for surah An Naas, but when he saw those words, he began to say he couldn’t match them. I prodded him and he managed to do it, but it was clear that those words are new to him. We have been working on Al Ikhlaas only all these days, so he was quite familiar with those, but not An Naas. He loved the games the most, and I can’t help but thank Allah for giving Umm Nu’man the taufeeq to come up with these various activities mashaAllah!

Amidst all the productivity, I realized that I had forgotten to tell the kids to do their math. So this morning, I told N and H to do their math but they weren’t able to watch their DVDs because the mac doesn’t work for those DVDs for some reason. I also didn’t do their Wordly Wise that I had painstakingly scanned and printed during the chaos of planning and packing for this trip! And I’m about to have class in about an hour, so there is no way I can do it with them now. starting tomorrow, I will be busy with the public speaking workshop, so, looks like they’re going to have some kind of ‘vacation’.

All I can do now is rely on hubs to be productive with them. Travel – Dua. My most reliable hope.

We didn’t go out today though I did think of letting them walk to the Downtown library by themselves, but I also keep thinking of child abductions and missing children incidence in this country and so I think I’ll keep them in the room even if they are a bit noisy. They’re playing games on IPad. Sigh. Oh well. They did read up Oklahoma a bit on Monday, but that was it. Whenever we travel, I am always interested in reading up on the place we are traveling too, and I have always tried to share this passion with them, but they don’t seem very interested and it frustrates me. All I can hope on is that these experiences do have an imprint in their memory and will one day make meaningful connections in their brains that are of some benefit.

Allahuman fa’na bi maa ‘allamtanaa wa ‘aalimnaa maa yanfa’una.

Oh Allah benefit us with what You have taught us and teachh us with that which would benefit us.

For there are a lot of things out there that one can cram into one’s memory that are of no benefit whatsoever. May Allah make us of ulul albaaab and fill our minds and heart with only beneficial things. Ameen!

When I was in class this evening, hubs went out with the kids. They walked to the Botanical Garden, and took some photos. Then they went to Bricktown to get some photos for me since Z had deleted the photos I had taken when we went on the water taxi ride on Monday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They came back with Briyani for dinner. They had also gone to pray at the masjid we saw by the OK Halal Meat & Grocery, and said that it was huge, had a water fountain and that there are 4 masaajid here in town! Wow. I don’t know much about the Muslim community in OKC, but I am of the impression that it’s not that big. but 4 masaajid! Wow. They even have a school. How come I don’t hear much about the Muslim community in OKC though?

Poor Z. We were eating Briyani for dinner and he just had his white rice with serunding. As a mother, I was torn between feeling sorry for him, heartbroken, and wanting him to learn to live with his food limitations. The kids keep saying I am spoiling him when I dote over him but how can you not dote over him when he is so patient over this? He usually looks at us eating and he knows he can’t eat, and there is this forlorn look on his face. He doesn’t usually say anything though. He looks at his own food, doesn’t say anything, and eventually, when he realized it’s eat that or nothing, he eats it. When we do get food for him in restaurants, which is a very rare occurrence, I LOVE seeing the joy on his face. He doesn’t complain, he displays no tantrums. The most he does is turn away from the sight of us eating what he can’t eat, and eats his snacks. He would now even say he doesn’t want to eat something that I’ve prepared. Sometimes, he would state that he wants it this way and not that way. I can’t stand fussy eaters. I really can’t, and I don’t want to raise sons who are fussy eaters, who might burden their future wives, so when Z does this, I put my foot down, even when I feel sorry for him. He can’t afford to be fussy. He had low iron during his infancy, and I think he’s short on a lot of other nutrients too because of his allergies. But Allah is Ar Razzaaq, He will nourish and nurture him as long as I put in the effort to do what I can. So I’m worried but not that worried. His rizq has already been decreed. What he will get, he will get and what he is not meant to get, he will never get. Alhamdulillah.

Anyway, hubs bought him a bag of halal marshmallows that is exclusively only for him. That is supposed to make up for not being able to share our dinner. While we were eating and I was looking at him being left out, I asked Allah to make him patient and strong from this, and so, May Allah strengthen him through this and form his character into one of perseverance and utmost patience. Ameen. And yes, of course, may Allah also cure him and make him outgrow all of these allergies completely! Ameen.

Categories: Activity, Family, HotelSchooling, Productivity, Quran, Teaching Challenges, Travel, Z's learning | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

