Back Home

Alhamdulillah we arrived home after a 10 hour drive from Dallas last night, and struggling to catch up with life right now. I had group and S has class. N and H have class today too. Busy busy busy. Then of course there is a sizeable amount of laundry, unpacking and resuming life at home to be done.

I have to say this. Every time we return home from our road trips, I feel sad. I love our road trips. This past weekend, I attended a public speaking workshop, from Thursday to Monday. It was an 8-5 daily workshop, and towards the end of the workshop, I was getting very stressed out because they had assigned us a 10 minute speech with only an overnight to prepare. While I was in the workshop, hubs and the kids hung out in the hotel. S did her math and studied her Taleem but the rest simply hung out. A couple of mishaps happened, and I felt like a working mom, coming home to hear that this happened, and to still have to nag at things that are not done. But mashaAllah, they pretty much took care of cooking. We hd brought a rice cooker and that was our stove, steamer, kettle all in one. They did a pretty good job with handling food. Hubs really did a great job. He dropped me off and picked me up, and for every night, he offered to go get something, so we’ve been indulging in Iced frappe, shakes, bubble tea while we were in Dallas. This is something out of the ordinary because we don’t usually do this. Hubs is a very frugal guy and so this was a big deal. But it was a beautiful gesture.

The workshop was amazing. I love it! Hubs and kids got to hear parts of it too, and especially Wisam’s tajweed session. Hubs would stay for a bit after dropping me off before going back to the hotel to the kids so he could listen to parts of the workshop. Even though I was the only one attending this workshop, it was as if the whole family did.

At lunch break they all came and brought lunch and we ate together. Reminds me of our AlMaghrib days. Every day, after the workshop, I’d share what I learned with hubs. He could have attended the Khateeb workshop but he let me attend the Sisters Public Speaking one. Subhanallah.

On Sunday, I prepared my speech, and practiced it on the family but it was difficult. I was only able to properly articulate what I wanted to say after they had all gone to sleep and I was coming down with a headache due to accumulation of lack of sleep, and after a while I just went to bed. On Monday, I thought to myself, oh whatever happens, happens. I wasn’t ready for the speech. But alhamdulillah they gave us some time to finish it. I didn’t really write out my whole speech, I skipped that and jumped straight to te note card bullet points. As English is not my native language, I worried about stumbling over my words and up till the time we had to present to our evaluators, I was in that condition.

Hubs and the kids checked out of the hotel earlier than 12 so they got to attend Wisam’s tajweed session. I realize that whenever I am attending classes like these on my own, I feel a bit wistful. I wished the whole family was attending, because the benefit of these classes are such that I don’t want them deprived of it. So when I saw hubs I was happy. The kids I know were also listening at the musalla because the sound system was such that the whole masjid can hear.

When time came for our speech presentation, my evaluator was Wisam and a sister. I was already panicking, and having Wisam as an evaluator made me even more nervous. But mashaAllah they both gave very nice positive affirmations and constructive criticism. During my speech however, Z came over and subhanallah, when I saw him coming towards me, I thought to myself,

“Of all times, he has to come and interrupt me now?”

I only patted him and went on with my speech though. From the corner of my eyes, I saw H coming and he took Z away. But when I was receiving feedback from our evaluators, they said that it was great that I wasn’t fazed by the kids coming when I was presenting. Thinking back, I’m surpised myself. At home, I’ve never been really able to block them out. I don’t like interruptions and can’t really tolerate them well, but alhamdulilah, I guess, I do have the ability to tolerate them in a fairly good manner.

I also got to ask Wisam some tajweed questions that have been plaguing me for years now alhamdulillah. We left earlier than planned because I got to ask Sh Abdunasir my questions and I had finished my speech. We drove back home, but of course, like whenever we visit a bigger Muslim community in other cities, we felt wistful. At least hubs and I was. We want to move. But it’s all in Allah’s hand. We can only plan and put in the effort. InshaAllah. Whatever Allah decrees is best for us. Alhamdulillah.

Now, back home, back to work. I have a lot to catch up with and the kids do too. S’ PSAT is next week and I still have to call the high school since we just played phone tag all of last week.

 

Categories: Community, Family, Qalam Institute, Travel | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

