Arabic Numerals

When the 3 older kids were younger, I had made these Arabic numerals with construction paper, and then placed the corresponding number of stickers and sandwiched these between contact paper. I think we’ve lost them. I had also made a sequence of scabbing using the same technique and we still have these, or at least some of them. I haven’t really focused on Arabic numerals with Z as I did with the older kids, so today, we continued doing the Hujjaaj Addition activity with the spinner. He is able to help himself write the numbers with my directional instructions (for numeral 4 ; Slide, run, jump). He is even making up his own directional instructions when writing the numbers.

We finished the addition sheet and I put it away, and moved on to the hujjaj game. We did the five little hujjaj game and I took the opportunity to focus on Arabic numerals with him. What I did:

  • Instead of singing five little hujaaj down by the haram, I said khamsah little hujjaj down by the haram
  • I asked him to count how many hujjaj are left first in English
  • then as we lined up all the hujjaj, we counted together in Arabic, him saying it after me
  • then we started all over again with the song, and everytime we took one hujjaj out (I took the highest numbered hujjaj out) I asked him to count the remaining hujjaj with me in Arabic
  • as we did this again and again (since he likes the song), by the end of the hour, he was saying the order of the numerals in Arabic by himself though he still hasn’t mastered all of them

I dropped N for her appointment and then drove S to the local high school for her PSAT. She is more anxious about being around the other high schoolers than taking the test. I have to admit, I was too. So I waited with her till they went in the classroom. I drove home, attended my class, and even though I’ve done this for years now, it never is easy when you are home, attending an online class, and you have your kids come to you asking for this, that, and don’t seem to understand that you can’t be bothered because you are in class.

After my class ended, I worked with Z because as I was doing my class, he had taken out his lapbook and started to try doing the hajj sequencing activity by himself. I was actually surprised by how much he remembers because we actually only did it once. He also played the memory game with H. He also played with the numbered hujjaj by himself. So alhamdulillah, he really seems attached to the Hajj lapbook and is able to play with it by himself. So far so good alhamdulillah.

But then came time for me to wrap it up because I had to go pick up the girls. So it has been a busy day so far and it’s only noon now. I have to nap before my class today, and hope the kids spend their time productively because I don’t think I have the energy to nag at them.

Categories: Islamic Studies, Kindergarten Math, PSAT, Time Management, Z's learning, Zulhijjah | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

