Zulhijjah Activity Continued

We continued where we left off, and I still haven’t gotten my bearings, but at least Z cooperated more and didn’t really make those breathing objections. I did the hujjaaj addition  activity with him but only up to 3 equations because he soon tired of it.

He would spin the spinner (which H had mounted on cardboard), put the number of hujjaaj on the Kaabah, spin again, add that number of hujaaj and count the total hujaaj and then write it in the worksheet.

He couldn’t write 4, so I showed him how to write it. Slide, run, jump. He was able to do it with that visualization. For number 5, it’s drive, jump, circle and for 8, it’s S and then join. He actually loved writing the numbers with that kind of instruction/tip.

the spinners that H worked on the night before. He glued the pushpin in, glued the spinner on cardboard and then made a mount for it. It was fancier than I imagined but it was pretty easy to use. The only drawback is storing it with the lapbook since it has the protruding pushpin in the way.

We quickly then moved on to the memory game. He is pretty good at memory games mashaAllah. We did a couple rounds of memory game and I worked on his lapbook while he shuffled and rearranged them for a new round. It took me quite some mapping, visualizing and planning while working on his lapbook and juggling that with answering his questions and playing the memory game with him was not easy.

I folded a posterboard in half and again in half. I used all 4 quarters of the inside part, added some appendages to the inside page so it would fit some of the pieces and then used 2 quarters on the other side for this shown in the photo.

the appendage that I added to fit in the pages of the Hajj Step by Step activity set. I didn’t want to use the other available pages because it would take up too much space, so I just added this cardstock.

appendage closed

I had some mishaps with making the pockets for the pieces too, had to use the glue gun but in the end Alhamdulilah, it worked out. I also told him the story of Ismail and Hajr, using the prop I had made for the older kids years back in 2003. I had to look for it for I had forgotten where I had stored it. It was all dusty, but still pretty vibrant in its colors and still useable alhamdulillah. He was excited when I opened it, and I had to restrain him when he started to put up the pop ups.

Z telling me he wants to go see the footprint.

Basically a huge pop up card I made with posterboard. I had the older kids color it and I colored some too. This is pretty durable considering we made it in 2004. Alhamdulillah. I hope there is barakah in this.

a pop up card inside a pop card. Zam zam water gushing out.

I made the safa and marwa stand out too against the background.

The kaabah. I lifted this up when I told the story of Ibrahim and Ismail building the Kaabah.

I had fun making this sun.

After all 3 stories are told and the Kaabah is built and Ibrahim a.s. proclamation for Hajj is responded to every year with huge masses of hujaaj heading for Hajj.

Good thing I did this. Otherwise I wouldn’t have even remembered when we made this. When I made this it was for Eid Al Adha. I had the 3 kids do a show and tell on the story of Hajr and Ismail a.s. to the Malaysian uncles and aunties. H was 4 then, and the girls were 5 and 6.

Then I told him the story of Ibrahim a.s. and the slaughtering of Ismail a.s. and used Z himself as a prop when talking about the slaughter. I could tell he had this grim expression as he was listening to that story, which shows understanding, and I wonder if he understood the concept of Allah testing Ibrahim’s obedience. Then I told him the story of Ibrahim and Ismail a.s. building the kaabah. After I was done I asked him which story he liked best. He said the building the Kaabah one. He keeps asking to go to Makkah and see Ibrahim a.s.’ footprint at maqam Ibrahim. He also said he doesn’t like the dream story (the slaughtering story).

After the stories, I told him I couldn’t do anything much with him anymore because we had to get ready to go to the library, and so he wanted to help me work on his lapbook. He helped for a bit and then got distracted and went to N. He also complied when I told him to do some coloring and worksheet activities, which is surprising, so Alhamdulilah!

I was hoping it would take him some time to work on this so I could work on the lapbook without being interrupted but…

I am not done with his lapbook yet, but hopefully will have it done when he has finished all the worksheets in the pack. It’s coming along pretty well so far alhamdulillah.

With the older kids, what I did was assign them Zulhijjah assignments. N is to research the virtue of the first 10 days of Zulhijjah. H is to research the Hajj rituals. S is to look for ayaat in the Quran that pertain to Hajj. Our Zulhijah starts tonight alhamdulillah, so I decided to have them all watch this clip so they can implement it as soon as Zulhijjah kicks in.

Before we watched it, I asked them what they already know about the first 10 days of Zulhijjah. After we watched it, I asked them what they now know of the 1st ten days of Zulhijjah. Then I asked them which new information surprised or struck them the most.

N : If you’re doing hajj, you don’t fast during Day of Arafah

S and H : that it’s obligatory for everyone to pray the Eid prayer

Then we talked about action items that we can incorporate during these 10 days. And I asked them to choose action items for themselves and to really narrow it down so there is more possibility of them doing it.

We talked about increasing in seeking forgiveness and how our sins can really be a huge barrier between us and Allah’s obedience, and even our du’a. So, we talked about ways to make istighfaar.

Narrated Abu Huraira: Allah’s Apostle said, “Whoever says, ‘Subhan Allah wa bihamdihi,’ one hundred times a day, will be forgiven all his sins even if they were as much as the foam of the sea. (Book #75, Hadith #414)

And we talked about starting a new naafil prayer to add to the existing regular ones. Fasting (the kids love fasting and have always loved to fast from a young age. They would eat suhoor and refuse to go back to sleep, and played in their ‘tree house’)

May Allah increase us all in taufeeq to utilize these 10 days and make any good changes we incorporate, permanent. Ameen.

Tomorrow is S’ PSAT at the local high school. I just called them today and am to drop her off at around 8:45 am. So, tomorrow will be a little hectic. Wednesday is already hectic enough with our online classes. S is to shower right after fajr and attend her class already dressed and ready to go, because her appointment is at 8:15 am. So as soon as her class finishes at 8, we’ll go and I will drop her off. S also will be getting ready during tajweed time in her class, and we will all three leave at 8. After I drop N, hubs will stay with her and I will drop S off at the high school. Then I will go home, attend class, and after class ends, will pick up N, and then S. Then I have class in the afternoon. I’d better not have to take Zyrtec tomorrow. I can’t afford to be drowsy throughout the day.

Categories: Discussion, Family, High School, Islamic Studies, Juggling Multiple Kids, Kindergarten Math, Lapbooking, Learning Games, Living Islam, PSAT, Z's learning, Zulhijjah | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

