Soup Kitchen on Yaum at-Tashreek

We had people over for Eid on Eid day, went to Chuck E. Cheeses on Saturday, because Z has been promised it, and on Sunday, I figured we could do some sadaqah by volunteering at the soup kitchen. We would just be home otherwise anyway. We played tennis for maybe like half an hour and then hubs dropped us off at the soup kitchen and picked us up after about 1.5 hours.

Of course, I always get looks because of my niqab. People don’t necessarily ask me about it, though I did get some. But most of the time people are just curious, a little taken aback maybe, but overall, quite respectful, polite, and nice. The kids haven’t screamed yet when they see me. In fact, I’ve helped a few of their moms with their trays and the kids have been fine with me even actually spoon-feeding them (like today).

But something amusing happened today. N and S were serving, and there was a man who was holding a red carnation, an old man. He suddenly gave it to N, saying N’s face is as pretty as the flower. We had a good laugh about it later on, and after we left, I asked her where the flower was. S said she had hid it somewhere at the soup kitchen and left it there, out of embarrassment. *Chuckle*

We still have the ram’s head in our front yard right now. Hubs had brought it home after the slaughtering. I think it can scare potential burglars. But we need to get rid of it soon.

Z suddenly told me yesterday,

“I want hajj.”

I do too. InshaaAllah, we will go to hajj when He decrees it is best.

Tomorrow is still the day of tashreek, but we inshaaAllah start school tomorrow. I have to get started planning out activities for Z. Next week, my  break is over, and my schedule is probably going to resume its hecticness.

Categories: Amusing, Community, Eid, Family, Soup Kitchen | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

