Z Books: Me on the Map & Others

meonmap

Finally, we worked on our Step book inspired by this, and read Me on the Map by Joan Sweeney. I also looked for the Reading Rainbow Episode when I saw on the cover of the book that it is a Reading Rainbow book, but it turned out that it was only mentioned as a recommended book, but we watched it anyway.

Someplace Else from WVPT on Vimeo.

We made the step book and while S was on break during her class, I searched for the printouts for earth, continents, country, and state to make my life easier in making the step book. It was a harrowing last minute task but it’s done now alhamdulillah. I even took out our Traveling Atlas and together, Z and I looked for our city on the New Mexico map. He was able to pinpoint it on the empty printout.055

 

He is fascinated by the map of the house and the street. We did this activity yesterday, and today, we did the mail carrier unit by Confessions of a Homeschooler, which I had printed way back. Since today is library day, I took the opportunity to look for books on Mail carriers, police, firefighters and checked out DVDs on them too. While Z finished writing out his letter to H in the mail carrier unit activity, and practiced writing our address, I cut and put together his lapbook for the firefighter unit so we can work on it tomorrow inshaaAllah.061

On his own, Z has been looking at his step book. At first, when we made it, he didn’t seem to interested, but last night, as we were watching the Omar series, he kept on shoving it in my face. So Alhamdulilah, he is fascinated by it and alhamdulillah. While I was putting together his fire fighter lapbook, I was making dua Allah puts barakah in all of this because of the time I was spending and because of my exhaustion. It’s not really about how fun the activities are, but it’s about the effort we put in and about Allah’s taufeeq and barakah. I can spend an awful lot of time in preparing materials and activities but if it has no barakah, the kids won’t even remember what was taught. And I feel like this has been the case for some or most things with the older kids.057

I even showed him our house number when we got back from the library and on the way to the library I pointed out the post office to him. When we got back home, I read books to him related to mail carrier.

The books:postalworkers

Postal Workers by Shannon Knudsen

howithappensinPO

How it happens in the Post Office by Dawn Frederick

owney

Owney the Mail-Pouch Pooch by Mona Kerby

muletrainmail

Mule Train Mail by Craig Brown

whatdoesmailcarrierdo

What Does a Mail Carrier Do? by Lisa Trumbauer

Altogether, these books give a good picture about mail carriers, and Mule Train Mail especially gives an interesting look into mail-carrying in the Grand Canyons. Owney is also a very interesting story, true at that too.

We also watched All About the Post Office from the 8 Film Collection All About DVD.

allaboutDVD

Categories: Books, Lapbooking, Reading Rainbow, Writing, Z's learning | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

