Z Books: Way Up In the Arctic

We had done the Arctic unit I got from Royal Baloo a while back and I had gathered books on the Arctic and Antarctic from the library and had recently returned them before I could make a post. Am a bit too busy to update the blog, so I will just type up a brief recap of what we did for documentation.wayuparctic

He loved those word searches, for a while, until I printed more that was a bit too hard for him. Then he moved on to dot-to-dot.

He loved those word searches, for a while, until I printed more that was a bit too hard for him. Then he moved on to dot-to-dot.

I cut out the template of the dice and just shuffled the crds face down for him to pick instead of using it as a dice. We reused the graph too.

I cut out the template of the dice and just shuffled the crds face down for him to pick instead of using it as a dice. We reused the graph too.

I  had issues withe dice, so I decided to cut it up, use it by shuffling the cards face down, and reuse the graph. He loved this because of the story I made up as he picked a card. It became a race of the arctic and antarctic animals.

The sudoku. I decided to use ziplock as the 'pocket'. Simpler and more efficient. Time saving too.

The sudoku. I decided to use ziplock as the ‘pocket’. Simpler and more efficient. Time saving too.

I do still have this book from the library though and we love it, especially because it has those hidden numbers in the illustration! We also watched the Eyewitness DVD and to this day whenever he looks at a world map, he would point to the North pole and say “Husky” and to the south pole and say “Penguins”.

Even when I was teaching him the continents, he was still hung up over where the huskies live and where the penguins live. He loves that Arctic and Antarctic Eyewitness DVD though.

Categories: Animals, Books, Kindergarten Math, Lapbooking, Learning Games, Math, Z's learning | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

