Catching Up On Break

I’m on winter break and even though it’s a break, it’s realistically a time for me to do all those things I don’t get to do during non-break time. My January schedule is going to be really tight, so I’m just trying to get everything done during this break to maintain my sanity and health in January. InshaaAllah.

I printed  out Z’s lessons, and have yet to go through them and cut and organize them into his lapbooks. I decided to look for workbooks at Wal mart for him for times when I can’t sit and work with him throughout the week. Especially in January.

Yesterday, I finished figuring out S’ high school plan considering some changes we are making to it. She is designing her own Crochet I course and I worked on finding resources and planning out the rest of the courses she still has to take. I decided to use the Bedford Reader as the source for her composition section of her English 11 and 12, and use Mrs. Tetsch’s Homeschool Book Study for the literature component. I may check her writing myself or use WriteGuide, esp for January. In fact I emailed the admin to ask if I could add her on to N and H’s current course. I was also looking for a Probability & Statistics high school DVD course for her since she is about to finish her Algebra 2 in a few days inshaaAllah, and only found MathTutorDVD. I emailed them asking if they are also equipped with student workbook and answers and they said they are not, but that they always encourage people to look for cheap workbooks or use the high school Statistics textbooks for problems. So we might just do that for her 4th math course. I figured Statistics would be the next logical math course because she wants to major in Psychology, so it doesn’t make sense for her to take Pre-Calculus. I was googling at what is required to pursue Psychology in college, and it basically emphasizes on good strong writing skills, Statistics, Psychology/Sociology, and Biology. The only problem right now is that she hasn’t done any lab for the sciences that she has done ;Biology and Chemistry. So we’re either going to test out with CLEP or have her take an online course with CurrClick. I hope Kim will still be teaching then, when she is ready to take those courses. So last night and this morning, I sped read through the Bedford Reader and picked essay assignments for her. Once she is done with her Algebra 2 inshaaAllah, she should start on her English 3 composition part. I found Education Portal which I find to be quite a wonderful resource. It offers free courses in video format (which is the wonderful part) and it can be used to prepare for the CLEP tests.

So basically for S:

  • English 3 & English 4 : Composition and Critical thinking from Bedford Reader & Homeschool Book Study
  • Probability & Statistics – MathTutorDVD with separate test/workbook OR test out with prep on Homeschool College USA.
  • Biology, Chemistry, Physics – either with Currclick, or test out, or in community college.
  • World History – we already have the textbooks. I initially wanted it to be non textbook based but to make it simple we reverted to textbook.
  • Social Science elective – I found 2 on Coursera that I figured she’d be interested in and I was right at least on 1 of them. They are:
  • Why We Need Psychology
  • A Beginner’s Guide to Irrational Behavior
  • Social Psychology

 

Today, I started planning out N and H’s high school plans, which I have done on paper months ago, but it needed resource searching. I ended up on a lot of websites, and one wonderful one I found was Stossel In The Classroom. I registered and ordered the free DVDs. So far we’ve been watching CNNStudentNews everyday, and so this would be a great addition to our current events and critical thinking discussions inshaaAllah. Can’t wait to use those DVDs!

One thing that I still find challenging to put together is English for all 4 years. For N and H, I figured I would use Homeschool Book Study, both semesters, and use Home2Teach as the composition component, and I found English Grammar 101 which I think I will definitely use for them for their 9th grade English. For 11 and 12th grade English, I might use the free online courses from Homeschool College USA. In fact I even found a possible Statistics course for S. I  may even utilize the recommended course of study for their English. For Science, this is where it troubles me. N loves taking NatureGlo’s science classes on Currclick, and I had emailed Gloria asking if her classes would count as a high school biology class and she said for me to check with my state requirement. I have yet to do so, but what troubles me is the lab component. I don’t know how to go about that. And I’m not really keen on doing their science with them. On the other hand, I think, learning Science hands on, nature notebooking etc is wonderful as opposed to doing it the traditional way. So I guess we’ll see on what my schedule allows then, when the time comes inshaaAllah. I’m trying to balance between doing too much unnecessarily or doing it the smart way. Because I  have to spend time with Z too, so it’s probably highly unlikely I would have time to devote to overseeing their science done in an innovative way.

For N & H:

  • English 1  & 2- Homeschool Book Study, English Grammar 101, Home2Teach or I may just use the resources under Homeschool College USA. I will also resort to using WriteGuide for their writing component. I don’t really look forward to doing the discussion for the literature section but I guess if I have to, I will. Maybe along the way I  might find an online Lit course with interactive discussion. Mrs. Tetsch’s classes are wonderful.
  • Math – we’re using Math U See and Teaching Textbook, though I like TT better because it’s hands off for me.
  • Sciences – I may  use the classes on Currclick or whatever I may find along the way. There is also Friendly Chemistry for consideration. And QSL Study Labs for H.
  • US Government – PASS is a great resource that S also used in 9th grade
  • US History – PASS also has US History and a lot of resources also on Homeschool College USA

For Z right now, I’m using an amalgamation of various resources, including Umm Nu’man’s A Muslim Child Is Born, Homeschool Creations, Confessions of A Homeschooler, File Folder Farm, Royal Baloo, Learning Page, Education.com, though this one has a limit of how many worksheets you can download per month. I printed a wonderful Calendar Notebook from Our Aussie Homeschool too.

Today, I found Head of the Class, which actually fulfills my inner inclination and preference for working with Z (as opposed to worksheet-based). I also came across Lesson Pathways again. I tried to register and realized I had already registered but forgot my password, so I hope to maybe look this over and hopefully cut out a lot of time looking for things for Z, and just use what has already been compiled.

As I was hunting on cyberspace, I also came across this interesting resource called Math Apprentice.

I realize I am far from done in this, but at least  Alhamdulillah, I got this much done. I’ll have to revisit N and H’s high school plan this summer inshaaAllah because we still have other plans that are still up in the air which may affect the normal course of their high school, especially H’s.

So far, Alhamdulillah Z has made significant improvement in his math. We did odd and even numbers, skip counting by 2, 10, counting to 100, adding by 1 pattern, and the concept of zero. I was anxious about teaching him these because I thought he might not grasp the concept immediately and I’m not that good of a math teacher, but alhamdulillah Allah made it easy and he got it from the start.

I also told him the story of Adam a.s. upon his insistence, and this occurred by accident, but I’m glad it happened. Recently as I was reading through Bedford Reader, I came across an essay that talks about Lilith who supposedly came before Eve, but whom the Christians hid. Quite interesting how the Biblical version of the story of Adam tends to want to put the blame on women whereas the Quranic version puts the blame on both Adam a.s. and Eve equally. Ironically, they are the ones now who accuse Muslims of oppressing women. It just goes to show that when you have a perception of something in a certain way, you may tend to find that fault in others even though it’s not the reality for that ‘others’. There is so  much emphasis on the idea that Muslim women are oppressed, which reminds me also of an essay in Bedford Reader written by a Muslim that depicts how the modern Western Society also oppresses their women in another more subtle yet torturous form. In reality, yes, it may be true that some Muslim women are oppressed due to lack of knowledge in Islam by the Muslim men and women and thus abusing what is not really in the religion, but the hijab and modesty itself, is not oppression. It’s starting to irk me how the history of oppression of women in other religions has set forth the movement of them going to the other end of liberating their women and then pinpointing these ‘oppressions’ in Islam. And even when we say we are not oppressed and we choose to dress this way ourselves, we are accused of being  brainwashed by the mullah. Oh come on! I guess that is not our problem, if people still persist to think about it that way. But it is a problem when they meddle and try to ‘liberate’ Muslim women who don’t know any better about the true teachings of religion. In their liberation, they’re only subjecting another kind of oppression on our Muslim women – the modern western society’s oppression mentioned in Fatema Mernissi in The Western Women’s Harem. I cringe at her usage of mullah and harem though, but I agree with her assessment of the suppression of women in the western society.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Course Planning, High School, Homeschooling, Literature, Organization, Outsourcing, Z's learning | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

