Copywork & Fractions

Today we continued working on the Pizza Lapbook I had made for him last school year. As usual, he did his Calendar Notebook and the K12 Number copywork. I have to sit with him when he does his copywork to make sure he’s not writing from the bottom up. This might take a bit more patience on my part. For now, I can’t leave him alone when he’s doing copywork since I realize that I have to guide him verbally and sometimes by modelling when he’s doing copywork. What helps him stay engaged in it though is when I describe the motions in terms of physical actions like “Jump down, run, circle!” I have to remind him to write below the dotted line for the lowercase letters. He seems to disregard the lines and I have had to bring his attention to these when guiding him.

Yesterday, at the Dr’s office, I brought some of his file folder games. We did the Fraction Fish, and in between filling out forms and tending to him, I hoped he somehow got the idea. We revisited it again just now, especially because in his Pizza Lapbook (courtesy of Umm Nu’man from A Muslim is Born), there is a worksheet on fractions. I started looking for Youtube videos on fractions because I don’t have any manipulatives to teach him fractions right now, and I’m not using anything in the kitchen…yet. Here are what I found that helped:

This one above is a great intro to fractions

We love this one !

This one is a great real life example. I’m making a mental note to demonstrate the function of fractions to him in daily life inshaaAllah.

This one is great because he can see how the different fractions can be made from one apple ! 😀

 

Categories: Copywork, File Folder Games, Grade 1, Lapbooking, Math, Youtube, Z's learning | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

