Bear Says Thanks

I was down the other day, and up yesterday alhamdulillah. I think it may be my diet, that my body may not be able to tolerate certain foods anymore and when I do eat them, I get fatigued and lethargic and all I want to do is sleep. When that happens, that’s it…everything goes down the drain. I feel left behind and work piles up and if it happens again and again it feels like a never ending vicious unproductive cycle.

Anyway, yesterday I had Z do his calendar. He can pretty much do it on his own now alhamdulillah, except I feel he is still confused with the place value, which is fine for now. While he filled in his calendar and scanned my students’ test and assignment for me, I cut and made more file folder games for him that I had printed last week. So, after he was done with his calendar and I was done with the file folder games, S had a break from class and the other two kids had also finished their online classes, so I scanned the rest of the tests because Z had started to use the Ipad to take photos instead. Meanwhile, I told S to do some addition problems with Z using the ladybugs placemats.

Then, we played the file folder game. We did Spring Peeps, to which Z said, “That’s hard!”

DSCN6147

I sensed that listening for the long e and short e is not that easy for him. But he did it. I put a mental note to myself that activities like this helps rather than sitting with him with a Phonics book and trying to teach him long and short vowels. I may need to look for more audio or video resources for him in this.

Then we also did the oo, ue, eu endings file folder game. He did pretty good with this because he can read visually very well. But I realized I had to explain to him what ‘due’ means and this is pretty easy because I just said,

“Like the library books are due.”

DSCN6136

DSCN6172

DSCN6177

Then we played the Punctuation file folder game even though I know some of the stuff in there are above his level. These file folder games are great teaching tools actually. I love them! Never had them with the older kids though. For this one, he had some trouble reading the words such as “exclamation”, “quotation” (he kept confusing it with the word ‘question’), “parentheses” and even “period”. In the middle of playing this, I went and took the book Bear Says Thanks that we had checked out from the library. It was the perfect book to use to apply what was learned, because the words are not that many and there were a lot of commas, quotation marks, exclamation marks and of course periods! I think he recognized the punctuations pretty well and was pretty engaged in the process. It was a good learning process for him.

Later on we read the book and I asked him to listen for words that rhyme. It took him a while to find them and I had to prmpt him by then saying,

“Ok what rhymes with bear?”

and when he still didn’t get it, I had to say,

“Does bear rhyme with share?”

I also pointed out the homonyms bare and bear since he is very visual and can get this easily. I also pointed out the synonyms cave, den, lair. It’s nice that the author uses these words in the book. I”m thinking I should extend this reading with some activities but it will have to be very simple. If I had more time, I would  have made flash cards for the rhyming words and stuff. Ahh…..for now, we’ll go KISS.

It was a good day though alhamdulillah.

These are the online games that I found pertaining to rhyming activities:-

Cookie Preschool Rhyme Time

Digby’s Garden

PBS Rhyming games

We also did some vowels and watched the Vowels Movie on Starfall. When I pointed out to him the vowels, he replied indignantly but smiling, “I knowww!!”

Vowel Movie on Starfall

I also found this : Gus and Inky’s Underwater ADventures

Categories: Books, File Folder Games, Grade 1, Homeschooling, Language Arts, Learning Aids, Learning Games, Phonics, Z's learning | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

