Z Books: Starfish and Spinning Spiders

Last week, I didn’t read any books to Z. It was hectic as my classes resumed and computer use was limited. I had an article I couldn’t finish and I had my online students to tend to, and I also lost my voice and towards the end of the week I strained my back when playing tennis. I had asked N to massage me but she didn’t do it with ihsan, so it didn’t have any effect. Hubs massaged it and by the will of Allah, I do not have problems making ruku’ now alhamdulillah!

Today, I read to Z while the kids are having their online classes.

We read Spinning Spiders by Melvin Berger.

We also read Starfish by Edith Thacher Hurd.

In the meantime, Z has been watching the Reading Rainbow video clip I had put up in a previous post. So today, after we read this, he expected me to find a Youtube video on them, and I did. We managed to watch a few before we set off for the library.

This was the first one we found:

And this is really cool too. Z said when we were watching this,

“It looks like a caterpillar!”

We also looked for spider web spinning Youtube videos:

With this one below, we talked about how the spider wraps its prey and then injects it with poison. When we read that part in the book, I reminded Z of his immunization shots (which he doesn’t like and so remembers quite well), and he understands and seems to be able to relate to this, so we looked out for this when we were watching the video. He even pointed to one of the legs of the spider and he said,

“Is that his ‘shot’?”

But then, I showed him how he injects the poison with a body part from his mouth and we saw it pretty clearly thanks to the video-person who did a wonderful job with this clip!

After we came back from the library, I went to the garden to check on my plants and saw a tangled spider web in my Thai Chilli plant. I showed it to Z and he told me,

“There is one on the captus!”

It took me a while to figure out what captus was, but as he pointed to our front yard, I understood. Captus = cactus.

“Oh, the cactus?”

“Yes.”

So he went ahead and showed me the spider web on one of the cacti in our front yard. Subhanallah, it was a beautiful web, and the spider was still there too and there was even some leftover of his meal. I wonder how Z even noticed that. I asked the older kids if they showed him the web, but they said no. So Z must have noticed it on his own. Good observation!

And he kept telling me when we were watching the Youtube videos,

“Send it to your blog!”

We also watched the tarantula:

Recently, I’ve been making his breakfast. Usually, I would pre bake his muffins, waffles and freeze them. I kind of feel sorry for him because they don;t look that appetizing and he ends up always skipping breakfast. So I started making him scrambled tofu with cubed frozen sweet potatoes for breakfast. He demanded that I also add carrots and I also put in sliced okra. I sprinkle it with curry powder. I also bake french fries of sweet and russet potatoes. But he really loves the scrambled tofu. When we made the sweet potato fries, he asked to help, so I let him mix in the curry powder over the unbaked fries, and even pour them on the pan before putting them in the oven. I had taken photos but he had deleted them. What  a shame. I make a big deal of him helping out in the kitchen because with his allergies, I usually don’t let him help much whereas the older kids all had their hands in their food since a young age. I find that letting kids work in the kitchen help with their learning overall. So I have been feeling bad for Z. Alhamdulillah, he’s been asking to help more and more now. Maybe after seeing his siblings always pottering about in the kitchen. A good thing, alhamdulillah.

I had checked out Janice Van Cleave’s Play and Find Out About Bugs, but haven’t yet had the chance to do any of the activities with Z.

Last week was hectic for me and we’re about to embark on one of our road trips for ‘ilm/hubs’ conference this month, so I’m thinking it will be hectic in the coming week. Well, at least he’s still learning from the little sessions we are able to have alhamdulillah.

Categories: Allergies, Animals, Books, Homeschooling, Reading, Science, Youtube, Z's learning | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

